Off-limits order lifted for Tamura, Kawauchi Central gov't revises designation of evacuation zones

The central government lifted its designation of no-go zone for the city of Tamura and the village of Kawauchi in Fukushima Prefecture near the crisis-hit Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant, effective midnight March 31. After the government reclassified evacuation zones that day, the city of Tamura was designated as an area to promote preparations for residents to return. The village of Kawauchi was classified into two areas -- one restricting residents' return and the other to promote preparations for residents to return. Tamura and Kawauchi were the first to be reclassified among 11 municipalities in Fukushima Prefecture affected by evacuation orders and advisories. In the two municipalities, residents will be allowed to freely enter the areas or return to their homes on a temporary basis. But they cannot stay overnight. In the areas designated to promote preparations to lift an evacuation order, the residents will also be allowed to open stores or farming activities in a limited period of time. Of the remaining nine municipalities, the city of Minamisoma which currently has no-go and evacuation zones is scheduled to be reclassified into three areas, effective midnight April 15 -- one for no evacuees to be allowed to return, one for a limited return of evacuees to be allowed, and preparations to be made for lifting an evacuation order. Translated by Kyodo News